I HATE Valentine’s Day 

“I hate Valentine’s Day!” Have you ever found yourself saying this? Don’t worry. You’re not alone. Valentine’s Day can be tough for many of us Sweet Hearts. Several weeks prior to February 14 we are bombarded with images of couples in love. Our Facebook timelines are flooded with pics of our girlfriends receiving gifts from their boyfriends and husbands. We see or hear about friends getting engaged and wonder “when will it be my turn?” Images in the media inadvertently tell us that we should be in a relationship with someone. And we agree. So we go out and find a man, usually not the man we know we need or deserve to share life with. And we settle. We hold onto this guy because it gives us security and we feel good knowing that we have someone in our life. We accept the message that if we are alone that we must be unloved and lonely, and we are too good and too cute to be alone. Right?

Maybe you’re the woman who finds yourself at home once again on Valentine’s Day, alone. There you are, sitting on the couch watching a romance movie, trying to have some experience of love through the characters on the screen. You allow your mind to wander, thinking of all your failed relationships. Maybe you call an ex boyfriend hoping to reconnect, but in your heart you know you should just delete his number. You call him anyway because it’s better to have him pretend to love you than to feel the pain of loneliness. And there you go again…re-entering the cycle of hurt, pain, and regrets.

Sweet Hearts, Valentine’s Day is only 2 weeks away. It’s time to stop focusing on the message that our worth comes from a man telling us “I love you.” Today we must choose to love ourselves and it’s time we allow ourselves to experience God’s love.

“And we have known and believed the love that God has for us. God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God in him.” (‭‭I John‬ ‭4:16‬ ‭NKJV)

Sweet Heart, you may be single but you are not unloved or unworthy of real love. You are not alone. We at Hearts in Faith welcome you into a community of love and faith. We are praying for you and with you. If you struggle at times to pray, here is a prayer you can say for this upcoming Valentine’s Day.

Lord, I come to you with my heart in faith. Please help me understand and believe that YOU are love and that you love me better than I can love myself. Teach me how to love myself, especially when I am feeling unloved by the people in my life. Teach me to love myself so that I can love someone else. Please heal my heart and take away the pain of loneliness. Fill the empty places in my heart with your joy and peace. And this Valentine’s Day I pray that I experience your love like never before. In Jesus name, amen. 

Be encouraged Sweet Hearts and always remember to keep your Hearts in Faith.

Leave a Reply

